Connect with us


Sanwo-Olu Launches 300 First & Last Mile buses



As part of measures to reduce travel time and ensure safety and security of the residents, the Lagos State government has launched a new transport scheme called” the First and Last mile bus scheme, taking off with 300 buses.

The Lagos State Governor, Babajide Sanwo-Olu on Tuesday, launched the new First and Last Mile seven seaters mini buses to replace commercial motorcycles known as Okada.

The state government had restricted the operation of Okada riders in some routes in the state and to cushion the effect the restrictions would have on the people, the state governor had promised to introduce alternative mode of transportation.

This is also in line with the agenda of the government to make Lagos a smart city and one of the pillars of the THEMES Agenda of Sanwo-Olu’s administration, which is transporation.


The launch the First and Last Mile Bus Scheme is coming on the heels of the restriction of the operations of tricycles and motorcycles in six local government areas and nine local council development areas, to bridge possible mobility gap that may arise as a result of the ban.

The First and Last Mile bus scheme is the last layer of the Bus reform Initiative for Lagos state, which comes from the Lagos state transport master plan developed by LAMATA.


The FLM bus scheme comes in capacity (7-11) passenger buses and would travel on routes designed to take lagosians closest to and from their origin and destination.

These buses will also connect community routes to the major BRT bus stops, bus terminals, ferry terminals as well as train stations.

In his welcome address, the Commissioner for transportation, dr Fredrick Oladeinde stated that the First and Last Mile (FLM) bus will sure make the whole passenger transport chain as seamless, fast and comfortable as possible.

In her Speech, the Managing Director of Lagos Metropolitan Area Transport Authority (LAMATA) Engr Abimbola Akinajo, .stated that for ease of operation of the scheme, the state has been delineated into eight zones. The zones are:
• Zone 1: Ikeja and Ketu
• Zone 2: Oshodi, Mushin, and Surulere
• Zone 3: Berger, Yaba and Oyingbo
• Zone 4: Lagos Island, Ajah and Ibeju Lekki
• Zone 5: Iyana-ipaja and Agege
• Zone 6: Mile 2, Iyana-Iba and Ajeromi
• Zone 7: Ikorodu
• Zone 8: Epe and Badagry